Courtney Lee–Hip Mom

Often times, when talking to myself, I hear people ask, “Oh Courtney, you’re so cool and hip. We can tell because you have such nice hats. But how do you manage to keep up your hip chick persona while hoisting around a wriggling three year old?” Excellent question! It is true, I am very, very hip. You can tell because I have such cool hats. However, it is indeed very difficult to maintain my super cool hiptitude while hauling around an angry, screaming, possibly pee soaked miniature version of myself. It’s a daunting task, but I handle it very simply–I make more cool hats.

Yes, it was Olive’s turn this week. I wasn’t sure what I wanted so I grabbed a neutral color and went to town. I decided on gray to begin with since it seems to be really huge right now (actually, I just really, really like wearing gray in the fall). But that was boring, so I made a cute little flower.
Hat with little flower

Well, that hat’s certainly cute and much less boring with the addition of the flower, but what if Olive doesn’t feel like wearing a variegated blue/orange/white flower? She’s a picky, indecisive and painfully difficult child, how could I ever make the whole “put on the damn hat” process easier for both of us?
Hat with big flower

“Buh! Guh! Wha? Is that a different flower??? You made two hats?!?!” I assume these are the noises and exclamations you’re making right now, which is understandable. They’re both pretty bad ass, so I can understand your concern as I have transcended from merely hip to supremely awesome.

Fear not, dear readers, it’s a trick! That’s only one hat!
Holy crap?!
Velcro! It’s the greatest invention ever! I’ve only made the two flowers now but I have plans to make more in different sizes and colors, as well as a few neat shape ideas (many thanks to Stephie for suggesting the ladybug). She can change her hat detail every single day to suit her differing moods and…subtle…changes in personality.

Action shots!
Olive's hat

Blurry hat

Anyway, I hope I’ve answered your questions about my balance between being super cool and being a mom, as well as given you an idea about how simple good ideas can be. Sew on Velcro can turn boring anythings into the coolest anythings a three year old could ask for and save a lot of hassle when it comes time to get ready in the morning. She gets a choice, and I get to breathe easy knowing that I’ve staved off the urge to violently beat her for another ten minutes or so. Everyone wins.

Ollie and Mommy

(I’m just kidding about beating her)

About courtneykilledit

I am a twenty four year old mother of one in Columbus. I recently quit smoking and to keep the urge to shank a baby for a cigarette from becoming a reality I started crocheting obsessively. This blog is to keep my friends and family updated on my many, ridiculous projects.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Courtney Lee–Hip Mom

  1. Stephanie says:

    w00t! i made the news!! looks cute…i especially like the 2nd flower….but i like things big, bright, and obnoxious…..for example…jason ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Yeah, I’m rather fond of Jason too. ๐Ÿ™‚ The cool thing is that those are the same flower, just with different weighted yarn. I’m partial to the little one, but if you could see it in person (and feel the goodness of my clearance wool) you would probably understand. We need to gmail tonight or tomorrow, so hard!

Leave a Reply

