Why I love Mike Kamper

***EDIT: Make sure you guys click the links if you want to see the videos. I couldn’t embed them for some reason. ***

Hey crochet enthusiasts! How have you been, did you vote last week? Ollie and I sure did!
Photobucket

http://s945.photobucket.com/albums/ad294/courtneykilledit/Family/?action=view&current=SANY0008.mp4

Fat load of good it did though! Mike and I spent election night in a stupor that was two parts fear and one part shame. To be fair, fear and shame played a big role in the republican win, so congrats guys, fear and empty promises still work better than actual results. Kudos for tapping the American psyche.

Anyway, it’s times like those–hard, confusing, and downright frustrating times–when I realize exactly how lucky I am to have someone who stands in solidarity with me. He helps me stay strong when an entire nation stands against us, or even when it just feels like it. He makes me happy when it feels like I can never be happy again. Seriously, Mike’s the greatest.

How great, you ask? On our third date I broke the tip jar at his gig by dropping a piano bench on it and he STILL wanted to go out with me again. Still not convinced? I didn’t think you would be, so I compiled some choice photographs and video to further prove my point.
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket (Yes, she is trying to wash him with a sponge)
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

http://s945.photobucket.com/albums/ad294/courtneykilledit/Emptied%20the%20Camera/?action=view&current=Picture359.mp4

Now, what really, really sucks is that these don’t even scratch the surface of why Mike is so great. I can’t show you how he agreed to dress up as a monk for Halloween to go with my devil costume even though he doesn’t love the holiday (or how he whined like a little girl when I made him clean out his own pumpkin), and I can’t show all the fun little times we have together that are impossible to get on camera.

Anyway, I wanted to do something really, really nice for him to show him how much I love him. Before I go on, I don’t want to mislead anyone out there. I don’t HAVE to do really nice things or make him anything at all because for starters, he doesn’t expect it. Furthermore, I do nice things for him pretty consistently. But as a mom, I feel like I can really appreciate why someone would have some trouble seeing some of my gestures as heartfelt expressions of care. In fact, I’m fairly sure he views certain things–calling him in the middle of the day to see if he took his vitamins, forcing vitamins down him later if he hasn’t, making him put his laundry down after I just can’t take watching him agonize over how much detergent to use anymore, forcing him to buy the whole grain product that costs five cents more (five cents people!)–as nagging. It’s hard to feel the warmth of my love when my love is currently shoving a vitamin down his throat and lecturing him on the virtues of vitamin C.

So I decided that he needed to physically feel that warmth. I made him a nice hat.
Photobucket

I’m actually pretty proud of that one. I striped every row, which is sort of a pain, and I did it in a spiral so it is seamless. It’s in green, because it’s his favorite color, and gray, because I thought it would match all of his things. I’ll probably make a matching scarf later, though he recently declared that “scarves are for girls” before realizing that I had already started the stupid thing.

I think he looks really good in it! Here are some action shots:
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

http://s945.photobucket.com/albums/ad294/courtneykilledit/Emptied%20the%20Camera/?action=view&current=Picture358.mp4

(For those of you wondering why Olive isn’t wearing a coat, it was actually quite warm that day. Mike put on the hat just to show me that he liked it. Isn’t he great?)

Anyway, that’s my handsome, sweet, wonderful, considerate Mike. Thanks for reading about him! Normal posts are on their way, but for today I just wanted to brag about him and the super cool hat I made him.

Take care everyone!

About courtneykilledit

I am a twenty four year old mother of one in Columbus. I recently quit smoking and to keep the urge to shank a baby for a cigarette from becoming a reality I started crocheting obsessively. This blog is to keep my friends and family updated on my many, ridiculous projects.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why I love Mike Kamper

  1. stephanie says:

    awee!!! 🙂

  2. Woof! We had SO much fun looking at these pictures/videos. I very much wish we lived closer together so I could join in on the fun. At least I know my brother is happy and someone is watching over him and taking care of him. He really needs that, so I lift my paw to you in thanks.

    My mom loves his new new hat! Too chic. She said the colors are perfect. Hey, does he need the jacket he left here?

    Give Olive a lick – I mean kiss, for me. She is very, very cute!

Leave a Reply

