My Dog is Ruining Christmas

Thanksgiving has passed and that means I have to make you jerks guys your Christmas presents, which is proving to be a massive task. I’m not anywhere near where I need to be due to questionable… “time management” …practices (Time management means watching MST3K for six hours straight just because I can). I’ve recently taken to crocheting at restaurants, bars, bathrooms (not YOUR present, of course), family get togethers, and during Mike’s marathon gaming sessions and I’m finally starting to make some real progress. That is, I was making great progress. Then, Sadie decided she needed to use the internet.

I’m sure most of you guys already know that Mike’s dog, Minnie, already has a blog, and if you don’t you can read it at http://www.worldsbestdog.wordpress.com. She’s a pretty great dog and Sadie, being a literate dog herself somehow, loves to read it. About a week ago though, Minnie mentioned missing a beloved toy that her family wasn’t able to replace, that they called “the grenade”.

Sadie wasn’t having any of that. “Mom!” she whined loudly, “Minnie needs a new grenade. You need to make her one! RIGHT NOW!” “Sadie,” I replied after recovering from shock and amazement at her sudden ability to speak, “I will do no such thing. I have two papers and a large amount of chemistry homework. Besides, it won’t be sturdy enough for her to chew on.” The discussion was promptly ended and Sadie began to whine. And whine. And whine.

Photobucket Dammit Sadie.

To be fair, it only took about an hour to make. I used two pieces of cheap yarn from my stash at once to make an extra thick, durable, chewy toy. An added bonus, it’s a soft toy, and those are Sadie’s favorites, as you can clearly see.
Photobucket
Photobucket
See how her eyes glazed over and went all whacked out in that last picture? That’s the reason I had to make yet ANOTHER toy for Minnie. I couldn’t, in good conscience, take the original from Sadie. Look how happy it made her!
Sadie freaking out.

And that’s how two dogs managed to suck up two hours of my life. Happy Holidays!

About courtneykilledit

I am a twenty four year old mother of one in Columbus. I recently quit smoking and to keep the urge to shank a baby for a cigarette from becoming a reality I started crocheting obsessively. This blog is to keep my friends and family updated on my many, ridiculous projects.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Dog is Ruining Christmas

  1. Woof!! That was so nice of Sadie to ask you to use your talents to make something I thought was irreplaceable. And I don’t blame her for not giving up something as cool as a custom-made grenade. I can hardly wait to get my teeth on mine!

    Make sure you give Sadie an extra treat from her cyberpal Minnie!

Leave a Reply

