Why Stephanie Soika Will Probably Slug Me When She Gets Back to the States

Stephanie Soika, I have done you wrong.

Many of you are probably going, “Courtney, what the hell? This is a craft blog, not a twelve step program. Go make your amends elsewhere. And where’s my @#*$ing Christmas present?” Fear not readers, this will all make sense in a minute, I promise.

So, right before Christmas I quit my job at Payless. I made up for the lack of income by immediately starting at new job at Teavana. It’s an amazing job! I drink all sorts of tea, I get to take stuff home sometimes, and they’re really good about working around my school schedule and respecting my rights as a human being. In short, it’s everything that Payless is not.

Unfortunately, I was hired right AT Christmas time, which means they needed me every day I could afford to be there, two weeks before final exams, and right around the time I was already foaming at the mouth with the sheer amount of school, home and other work I had to do. I passed my finals, with flying colors I might add, and then geared up for two forty hour weeks in a row, right until Christmas day, my first day off in almost two weeks. Ollie and I had to bake cookies the only day I had a few free hours, and we had to bake a few more batches Christmas Eve at 8 pm in order to have enough to put out for Santa.

And that’s why you guys didn’t all get homemade Christmas gifts this year. That’s also why those of you that did probably haven’t gotten them yet. I’m working on them, I promise! Kristy’s is about half done and it shouldn’t take me much longer and a few others are about there. No worries guys, I’m on it!

Now, you’re probably still wondering what any of this has to do with Stephanie. I’m getting there I promise. Christmas came and went and the only person who got a homemade gift (my Mamaw) loved it (a scarf). I took some time after Christmas to get my bearings. I played with Olive, I did some reading, I studied for Latin, and enjoyed my gifts, especially…
Photobucket

Holy cow, look at all the wool!!!!! Special thanks to Mrs. Kamper who clearly knew how much I needed fancy crochet materials to add to my stash. I love it love it love it! Of course, when Mike brought it back from far off lands (Pennsylvania) I got a little excited…
Photobucket

Anyway, most of my gifts came in paper form this year so to treat myself I bought a Kindle. It’s so neat! I was a little worried, since I love print books so much, but I swear the screen looks just like print! It’s amazing! I needed to make sure this technological wonder was kept safe, so I made it a little case. Honestly? I’m not too happy with it, but it’s ok, and it’ll do till I make something a little nicer for it.
Photobucket
Photobucket

I tried to make something kind of like the covers that Kindle sells from their store, but without the leather (boo) and expense (also boo). It’s ok, but I kind of wish I’d just used some of my nice yarn (IE my new amazing wool!) and made an envelope style one like what was featured in the most recent issue of Interweave crochet.

“COURTNEY!!!! WHAT DOES THIS HAVE TO DO WITH STEPHANIE?!?!?!” Well, I just got there! Geeze! Keep your pants on! If you’ll notice, the yarn I used is a weird greenish color that doesn’t take well to wet blocking. I bought it months ago at an Odd Lots of all places and stocked up on it thinking “Wow, look at this god awful yarn. Thank goodness I love a challenge.” I made that cover as a challenge to myself and to Step…

Oh crap I forgot about Steph!!!

Here’s the thing. I was in Stephanie’s wedding months ago. It was lovely, a really great and beautiful experience. BUT there were dress issues and a huge mess, needless to say we got a full refund on the original bridesmaid dress well after Steph commissioned a second set of dresses and we were to send a check for it after we got our refund. What does this have to do with really awful acryllic yarn that isn’t good for much?

Ha! Well, I bought more than enough for any small project I could make with the full intention of sending it to Steph, with the check, and a small Christmas present. I was planning on making it a fun crochet challenge–make something useful with what can barely be considered yarn. In my horrendous holiday stress and after shock, I let it all kind of sit in a corner and completely forgot to send it to her.

Unfortunately, Steph lives in the future, and I don’t see her often. She moved to the future shortly after she married Jason. Since she’s in even farther away lands, I need to actually make a trip to the post office and send it.

So Steph, I just put the check in the mailbox and expect a package in roughly the amount of time it takes to get a package from Ohio to the future. Here’s my challenge entry if you choose to accept. Otherwise, please enjoy the stash contribution and accept my sorry face as condolences.
Photobucket

EDIT: OH MY GOD IT SMELLS LIKE BURNING RUBBER WHILE YOU CROCHET WITH IT!!! Good luck with this stuff Steph!

About courtneykilledit

I am a twenty four year old mother of one in Columbus. I recently quit smoking and to keep the urge to shank a baby for a cigarette from becoming a reality I started crocheting obsessively. This blog is to keep my friends and family updated on my many, ridiculous projects.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why Stephanie Soika Will Probably Slug Me When She Gets Back to the States

  1. minniekamper says:

    Courtney, my mom is SO glad that you like the yarn. She wasn’t sure about the colors, and since she doesn’t do any kind of crocheting/knitting (but admires those who do), had no clue about the quantity needed to complete a project bigger than a scarf for moi.

    It is ridiculously cold here in PA so we hope you’re staying warm. Give Mike a paw shake for me, and say hi to Sadie.

  2. Stephanie says:

    i’m excited 🙂

Leave a Reply

