Christmas!!!

Here’s a little something you may or may not know about me. I have a love for Christmas that is positively stupid. I am the single most festive person you’ve ever met, promise. Don’t believe me? Ask my mom. Still don’t believe me. I took this picture a few years ago, in my bathroom :

Image

That wasn’t even half of it guys.

So clearly, I have some sort of love of the Holidays that borderlines on a personality disorder.Still, whenever someone says, “Hey Courtney, what do you want for Christmas?” I draw up a blank, and start talking about Dictionaries and Greek and Latin Reference books until their eyes glaze over. Why is it so damn hard for me to write a Christmas list for myself?

Well, I did some thinking, and since I really can’t post what I’ve been working on lately for holiday related reasons, I figured I might as well put up the definitive, “What I Want For Christmas” list not only for me(I know you’re all just DYING to know!) but any crafty person you might know. Sure, it would be easy and convenient to go for the standard toys: hot glue guns, beads, fancy scrapbooking paper (or whatever the hell it is scrapbookers like, I don’t actually “get” papercrafting) but if you’re looking for something a little fancier, these ten items should give you a leg up on Great Aunt Margaret (who totally caved and bought the glue gun). So, without further ado:

Courtney’s Top Ten Best Gifts Ever!!!

1. A Freaking Hook Case! I have been insistent, for years, that I’m going to go ahead and make my own organizer for my hooks. The case is a lie. I will never, ever, actually sit down and crochet myself something for my hooks, and most crocheters I know are in the same boat. There are a plethora of reasons for this, from not being great with measurements to getting really, really bored about ten minutes in. Unfortunately, my hooks don’t care that I have really inconvenient ADD, and manage to get lost all the time. I could do the math and tell you how much money I’ve spent replacing my stupid hooks, but that would just depress me. This one is really cute:  http://www.etsy.com/listing/86672671/crochet-hook-case-mod-dot?ref=v1_other_2 Plus it’s a roll, and those are super convenient for carrying in a book bag or purse.

2. Tiny Scissors Stupid as it sounds, I own no tiny scissors. I own plenty of craft scissors, but Olive uses those for “art projects” (cutting bits of paper and making a huge mess) so they’re often misplaced when being hurriedly picked up. Also, apparently people get a little leery of you when you pull kitchen scissors out on a bus. A small, discreet pair is perfect for anyone doing yarn or needlework of any kind. Here’s a pair, though really, any will do: http://www.amazon.com/Boye-Crochet-Curved-Blade-Snips/dp/B0041GSNG2/ref=sr_1_167?s=arts-crafts&ie=UTF8&qid=1322672164&sr=1-167

3. Baby Sitting I really don’t think I need to explain this.

4. Cross Stitch Stuff I bet you didn’t know this, but I actually do know how to cross stitch and have done a few small projects recently. Why haven’t you seen any? Because they’re Christmas presents! I kind of like having a different medium to work with and it’s neat to pretend that I know how to sew (when in reality I know how to make an x on a graph). Cross stitchers can appreciate all kinds of goods, from fabric to needles and hoops, but I don’t know a single one who couldn’t use a case to organize their floss. For about three bucks, you can make that dream a reality. http://www.amazon.com/Hawk-PLASTIC-BOX-21-5X13X5-5CM-MJ-94601/dp/B001V9BCEW/ref=sr_1_91?s=arts-crafts&ie=UTF8&qid=1322798915&sr=1-91 I am serious when I say this, but ANY plastic box with dividers will do. Feel free to decorate it once you’ve picked one out.

5. A Pretty Bag To Hold All My Crap In This also goes on the list of things I insist someday I’m going to make. It also is a lie. I love this one, but it’s really expensive: http://www.etsy.com/listing/44569589/yarn-tote-vibrant-pink-and-purple?ref=v1_other_1 Perhaps someone out there will teach me how to sew and then I can do it myself?

6. A Sewing Machine!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Ok, so obviously, no one is going to get me this. Seriously, that is a boat load of money going into something that I don’t actually know how to use. But, I’ll probably buy myself one with whatever Christmas money comes my way. I don’t know the difference between sewing machines, so here’s a picture of something that I am pretty sure is a sewing machine. http://www.amazon.com/SINGER-4411-Heavy-Sewing-Machine/dp/B003VWXZKG/ref=sr_1_11?ie=UTF8&qid=1322716447&sr=8-11

7. Perler Beads Perler beads are so fun, guys! I’ve made so many coasters and magnets for little presents this year. They’re almost instant gratification and very cool looking. Plus, kids enjoy it too, so it gives everyone a chance to be a little crafty. Just don’t let them throw the beads around. http://www.amazon.com/Perler-Beads-11-000-Count-Multi-Mix/dp/B0002YM0H0/ref=sr_1_1?s=arts-crafts&ie=UTF8&qid=1322888879&sr=1-1

8. Fusion Bead Kit I’m putting this on the list of things I really, really, really want but probably am not going to get. Still, if you’re buying for a special crafter who likes pretty things and saying the words “I made it myself!” this is a good bet. We’re a fairly adventurous group of people, so we love to experiment with new mediums. So please Santa, please! http://www.amazon.com/Fuseworks-FW848-Beginners-Fusing-Kit/dp/B001O5ULP4/ref=sr_1_4?s=arts-crafts&ie=UTF8&qid=1322888952&sr=1-4

9. Resin My father thought my jewelry resin was glue. So he used it…to glue things with. And so, I have learned. That being said, resin is super cool and gives nearly instant gratificaton, as a medium. This is one of those things where you can’t go wrong. You can buy resin, molds, or stains, and I’d have an endless possibility of jewelry and fun! http://www.amazon.com/Environmental-Technology-EasyCast-Jewelry-Popular/dp/B00114OTXI/ref=sr_1_2?s=arts-crafts&ie=UTF8&qid=1322889128&sr=1-2 http://www.amazon.com/Environmental-Technology-8-Ounce-Casting-Craft/dp/B000XAR0DM/ref=sr_1_1?s=arts-crafts&ie=UTF8&qid=1322889128&sr=1-1

10. Fancy Pants Yarn I love yarn. No, wait, I really, really love yarn. Or, to make it stronger, I “superlove” yarn. In fact, I love it so much that I’ve made it a habit to pick up a few skeins on clearance at the local craft store whenever I stop in. That being said, I have more yarn than I need, by a long shot. Also, Mike would kill me if he heard I’d spent more than five bucks a skein on anything! So if you know a yarn enthusiast this year, remember that they really need a little pampering too, and that if your adding to an already full stash, then it has to be “greatest thing I’ve ever touched” wool. I’m talking hand spun, hand painted, and lovingly packaged by a real human being wool. http://www.etsy.com/listing/87092521/handspun-self-striping-yarn-bulky?ref=sr_gallery_38&ga_search_submit=&ga_search_query=yarn&ga_order=most_relevant&ga_ship_to=US&ga_view_type=gallery&ga_search_type=handmade&ga_facet=handmade

My favorite: http://www.etsy.com/listing/71362648/whirly-pop-handspun-yarn?ref=sr_gallery_30&ga_search_submit=&ga_search_query=yarn&ga_order=most_relevant&ga_ship_to=US&ga_view_type=gallery&ga_page=2&ga_search_type=handmade&ga_facet=handmade

This one is both eco friendly and helps women in India: http://www.etsy.com/listing/87291634/660-yards-sari-silk-yarn-recycled-super?ref=sr_2e3fd823b546de8ba73d3ea46ccf9a3026bbed0c9233c6369ec83cdecd979037_1322890404_14151558_yarn

Search for “yarn” and let the colors and textures take you away!

So when you’re shopping for me a crafty person, this list should help give you some ideas!

And Santa, if you’re reading this, I could totally make you a new suit if I got that sewing machine. Just saying.

About courtneykilledit

I am a twenty four year old mother of one in Columbus. I recently quit smoking and to keep the urge to shank a baby for a cigarette from becoming a reality I started crocheting obsessively. This blog is to keep my friends and family updated on my many, ridiculous projects.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Christmas!!!

  1. Cassie says:

    Someday soon we will have to talk about working with resin, because I have a PLAN for my secret Santa gift that involves resin. And alllllll sorts of things. It will be awesome.

    But I’ve never played with resin before, so I need your words of encouragement to fear it less. I have heard it can sense fear.

Leave a Reply

